ACO presents the Musto Skiff European Championship 2013

From 31 August to 6 September 2013, 60 sailors from 10 countries competed in 12 races on Lake Attersee in Austria for the Musto Skiff European Championship title. Event organizer Union-Yacht-Club Attersee (UYCAs) and the Austrian Musto Skiff Class Association hosted the European Championship. Additionally, they also staged a two-day Eurocup on Lake Attersee preceding the European Championship.

ACO Group first partnered with the class - developed by Joachim Harpprecht in Kiel - for their 2012 world championship, held in the Olympic harbour of Weymouth and attended by over 100 boats. Iver Ahlmann, managing partner of the ACO Group, is himself an enthusiastic Musto Skiff sailor. As the current runner-up European champion, he'll be defending his title on Lake Attersee.

"The development of the single-handed Musto Skiff class, considered for the Olympics at the time, was a groundbreaking innovation in the sport of sailing," notes Ahlmann, who represents the Musto Skiff as chairman of its international class association. "Innovation also plays a key role at ACO. As the world market leader in drainage engineering, we focus on the most modern technologies and we also give unconventional ideas a chance. We're particularly proud of the fact that since 1972, all Olympic stadiums (except one) have relied on tailored solutions developed by ACO for their drainage. Formula One racetracks also implement ACO solutions: most recently in Austin, Texas; Shanghai and Delhi.

Keith Musto, president of the international Musto Skiff class association and founder of the Musto brand, commented on the ACO Group's sponsorship: "ACO, like Musto, is known throughout the world as a quality brand. Both brands stand for innovation, quality and top performance. We would be delighted to acquire ACO's sponsorship for the 2015 world championship in Perth, Australia as well."

The Winner at the Weymouth World Championship was Bruce Keen (South African Nationality), and he will be the reigning World Champion until January 2015.

 For more information see